PDA

View Full Version : Hi from BC Canada

Skizee
11-20-2010, 10:14 PM
Hi my name is Adrian I am a CNc machinist CAd/Cam designer. I just joined to find a little information about the gy6 reversing external gear box. I do not have a buggy but we want to try a gy6 motor in the drive unit that we have designed. The engine rotation is opposite to what we require thus the question about the gy6 reversing gear. The link below is a vid of our new winter toy in action.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jtaiI5NyZ5A

Cheers, Adrian

olderthan
11-20-2010, 11:28 PM
welcome to the group
gy6 with ext reverse is a 3 to 1 ratio
in foward its 1 to 1 ratio

Skizee
11-20-2010, 11:49 PM
Thanks for the reply very much appreciated, I thought it strange that reverse would be one to one but just checking, I guess I may be able make it up in the final drive to the front drive shaft with sprocket size. Due to the wrong rotation of the gy6 for what we need I may have to consider a diff engine, that kinda sux because theres so many aftermarket performance parts for the gy6 thats why we were checking into it.

Cheers Adrian

metalstudman1
11-21-2010, 01:07 AM
Cool toy! is your power plant mounted backwards in the track unit?

Skizee
11-21-2010, 12:30 PM