PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Alabama!

Rolltider2002
07-03-2011, 10:26 PM
Hey guys, I am new to go karts here. I just purchased my first one from my nahbor for 100 bucks. Its a Manco 606 Magnum Express with a Suburu Robin 6.5 hp 169cc engine. Doesn't look like there is alot of wear and tear. But it has been sitting still for a couple years. There is alot of rust on the drivin units and also the chain is pretty bad off. I have it soakin in oil to see if I can salvage it. I have changed all the fluids and spark plug. I have cleaned the carb. I still need to get gaskets for the carb. There was one on the back end that was torn. Everything turns, but it doesn't crank. Seems to not be getting a spark. Anyway, I am sure I will talk to ya'll soon seeing I probably am goin to need ALOT of advice. LOL. Here are a couple pics. 1286

metalstudman1
07-04-2011, 02:28 AM
Welcome-Nice kart-especially for $100.!!!! Verify that the kill switch isn't on- I believe there's 2, one up front and one on the engine.No spark issues can be very simple to fix.
Pull the side cover/sheetmetal off the engine and verify the coil is still plugged in ,look for rust/oxidation on the armature,too little or no air gap for the coil, check the plugwire for bare spots/chaffing. Let us know how it goes.

Rolltider2002
07-04-2011, 02:43 AM
Definitly rust on the armature, and also the magnet and round part the armature makes contact with (what is that called?) I have taken sand paper and took most the rust off the armature but there is really no hope for the other peice. It is all rusted.

gunluvinfull
07-08-2011, 02:26 PM