PDA

View Full Version : Speed Mobile Help/Info???

Arcadian
07-11-2011, 01:49 PM
Just checking to see if anyone could give some info, or suggestions with a go-kart I recently "inherited". Just trying to find a couple websites where collectors have pictures and insight posted.
My mother-in-law has a late 50's-early 60's go-kart made by Hedstrom that she has had since she was a little girl, she’s now 65yrs old. It’s been handed around her family a few times and is now sitting in a basement for the last 35+ years and hasn’t moved. Instead of throwing it away I figured I'd try my luck with cleaning it up and possibly selling it. I'm not sure if someone would like to collect a go-kart like this, I’m new to the gokart community.
It’s been in her family for a long time and I’m not too sure if she will want to part with it.

It’s a gas powered Hedstrom Speed Mobile with solid rubber wheels, approx 1" wide. Not sure of the engine size.

I looked through the web and couldnt find any details or pictures on this kart, so I figured I’d give this forum a shot.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

metalstudman1
07-11-2011, 05:51 PM
Welcome-Neat looking kart- I've never seen one like it, not even as a kid. Amazing how simple everything is on that kart.I love the handle for the belt engagemnet. Have you tried to start it?- Must of had to be fairly wealthy back then to own one!!!!

BuggyMaster
07-11-2011, 07:36 PM
man I bet you back in the day that was a heck of a great thing to have

Arcadian
07-12-2011, 02:02 PM
She did say they were the talk of their road. Ive put in approx 3 hours of searching online and cant find an article or pic of them.

I havent tried starting it yet. I just got the pictures so far. Once I get to visit I will give it a shot starting it.

If you happen to find anything please let me know. Thanks for the responses and Ill let you know once I get my hands on it....hah

kman
07-08-2013, 11:29 AM