PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Insurance?

Silverback
07-13-2011, 03:04 PM
Hey Group,

I'm new to bug'n and all things surrounding it.

But I did my research and ended up buying a Carter 250 GTR.

Totally happy with the machine, but having troubles insuring it in Ontario Canada.

Any recommendations or companies to approach?

No one seems to have this machine in their system.

On another note, with it being a single gear....what is redline?

Thanks everyone

Cheers

GX150
07-13-2011, 03:19 PM
The GTR has a CVT, so it has multiple ratios without the manual shifting. Once you get past 9K rpm you are way past the peak horse power (7k) and torque (5.5k) curves.

Silverback
07-13-2011, 03:30 PM
To confirm, never carry it past 7k?

Thx

GX150
07-13-2011, 03:55 PM
You can take it up to 9K without worry, but after 7k you are on the other side of the curves. When tuning your CVT, you want to keep your engine in the top range of your HP.

Silverback
07-14-2011, 09:43 AM
To tighten the chain last night, I shifted the motor backwards as recommended...but now lost forward gear. What is the quick adjustment on this?

I'm still in basic set-up, I have got to tuning yet.

So far - fresh brake fluid and bleed, bulletin on the steering and then alignment, tighten chain, bought oil (says SAE10w30, but could only find SAE10w40 full Honda synthetic), added simple side mirrors and basic tools into the rack bag.

Thanks for your help

GX150
07-14-2011, 10:45 AM
The reverse cable is set up poorly on the GTR. When you shift the engine, it changes the distance between the cable and housing ends resulting in shift issues. You need to adjust the cable the same amount you shifted the engine.

The Hammerhead and Joyner leave the engine in place and shift the rear axle carrier to adjust chain tension.

Silverback
07-14-2011, 10:48 AM
Okay - I guess I will need to look into that...and I'm not sure how much i shifted it...so it sounds like guess work

Silverback
07-14-2011, 01:02 PM