PDA

View Full Version : new to karting

smeagol21b
08-01-2011, 06:04 PM
Hello everyone! Im pretty new to go karts, I have 3 right now,an old carter brothers trail buster that had belonged to my late brother(currently trying to restore),and just recently bought a Murray outrage and a yerf dog 3002 from a yardsale for 250.00 for both. The Murray is in pretty good shape and runs good, needs minor repairs like brake bands and oiled and greased, its powered by a 6hp tecumseh on one wheel only(how common is this?)I want to put an actual axle on so both rear wheels have power, i was thinking of using a steel rod to make the axle but im open to ANY ideas! The serf dog needs a little more work, same size engine as the Murray but needs the pull start replaced(cause it ain't even there! Lol) need throttle cable and a belt,this one I want to put lights for night rides, I want to put a small alternator and battery to power lights but im not sure how to do it. An old friend from the army did this with his kart and it work great. Does anyone know how?
As soon as I have time I will upload pics of my karts

metalstudman1
08-01-2011, 11:56 PM