PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Richmond, Michigan

disstudem
11-25-2011, 10:13 AM
Hello all newbie here. been into off roading my whole life. just got my first buggy though. its a 2 seater manco silver fox gokart dune buggy. i have big plans for this kart, soon to be a single seater mini buggy. i'm gonna be combining my 85 quad sport and this gokart together and see where it takes me lol. i will start posting pic's from begining to end on this project, so stay tuned lol

SYCARMS
11-25-2011, 10:51 PM
Welcome to the addiction.

TOM

tmsandk11
11-26-2011, 10:50 PM
welcome

disstudem
11-27-2011, 08:52 AM
Thanks guys. think i might be starting this project sooner then i thought lol. the kart keeps eating up belts. the buggy is a little jumpy on take offs. it feels like it might be slipping a little until you get going. i'm gonna have to get to the bottom of it lol

tmsandk11
11-27-2011, 12:02 PM
Some possible causes, broken variator fan, worn out or stuck rollers/sliders, worn/burnt clutch, wrong size belt, clogged vent causing too much heat, pitting on the metal surfaces.

disstudem
11-27-2011, 12:57 PM
i'm pretty sure its not any thing to do with the motor seeing its brand new. i did notice when the motor is running the primary clutch looks like its out of balance a little bit. i haven't really took a good look at any pitting or any thing yet but will do. the first belt broke the same day a guy from Ohio traded me it for my 250sx three wheeler. i went and bought the second one and it lasted for about 4 good rides before it burned up. just shreds them to pices. i noticed the belt might have a little more play then recomened to. since this is my first buggie i'm not even sure how to adjust the belt tension. i'm open to any advice. thanks in advance

SYCARMS
11-29-2011, 11:46 PM
Can't say I ever worked on the Manco Silver Fox, what engine do you have?
TOM

metalstudman1
11-30-2011, 08:39 AM