PDA

View Full Version : Spider box left wheel toe in issue

shootistpd27
12-24-2011, 10:48 PM
I am new to karting but it is an addiction I am suffering from with no need for rehab. I bought my daughter a trailmaster 150 xrs and I have since been dreaming of having one of my own to toy with. I miraculously came across a spiderbox in my buddy's father's front yard and after an awesome trade, I had it! I got the motor running, the lights work but there is a steering issue. I cannot find exactly what is wrong with it online so here goes. I know that it needs ball joints because they are rusted and look atrocious. But the main issue is the left front tire. It will not line up with the right tire. When I turn to the right, it will become horizontal and lock up. I can turn the wheel hard and jerk it, and it will free up but turning any more than 10 or 20 degrees is impossible. I am afraid to drive it except for in a straight line. I tried to adjust the toe in nuts next to the ball joint but that didn't work. What do I need to fix this? I understand there was a big deal with a recall for certain models, mine is a 4902. I am unsure if it is one of the recalled models but either way, I need to know what parts to get to fix it. I am not a welder nor do I have any welding tools. I found the "driver's side offset spindle" on ebay, is this part what will fix my problem? Please let me know. Thank you all in advance for any assistance on this issue. And I hope you all have a Merry CHRISTmas!!!

metalstudman1
12-24-2011, 11:14 PM