PDA

View Full Version : Can I do this?

shootistpd27
02-11-2012, 01:37 PM
I have been addicted to messing with Karts ever since I bought one for my daughter. Now all I do is fantasize about them, not buying a new one, but building one from scratch or by coming up with a frankenbuggy.. I have a couple of questions for you if you don’t mind.
1. Tractor supply has a pedal kart on sale for $75 that is the perfect size for my 3 yr old daughter. I also have a 33 cc Poulan chain saw with which the convenient easy chain tensioner is not so convenient since the chain comes off with every cut. What I would like to do is get the pedal buggy, remove the pedals, (I tried to post a pic but can’t but you can see it on the TSC website), mount the chain saw where the pedals were on the bottom side, or wherever feasible, put on a throttle cable to the floor and let her ride.
2. I found the Honda GX240 with the horizontal shaft. I am not sure because I am new to this stuff, and surely it can’t be that simple, but can I just build a buggy,(which I know is not simple) or can I refab an old one to fit the GX240, simply put a centrifugal clutch on the output shaft, fit it to a sprocket on a rear end and ride?

lonniehall72@yahoo.com
02-11-2012, 07:56 PM
What's the price on the gx240? Against buying a used buggy! Cause I am wanting to build from scratch too. But there's so much you need to build a fun yet SAFE buggy. I'm reading all franken buggy posts and pics and asking guys like metalstudman for help and ideas. You have the tools?

metalstudman1
02-11-2012, 09:50 PM
pedal buggy-I think it could be done! the GX240 needs a good steel mounting plate, I haven't seen the pedal buggy but I'm sure it's pretty light weight metal where the chainsaw motor wouldn't need much structure to mount.