PDA

View Full Version : helix 150 with no top end

jimd
04-15-2010, 08:53 PM
Just picked up a helix 150. Seller could not get it to run long enough to even pull forward.
He had the choke loose. I reattached it, needled on the carb, and can get about 1/2 to 3/4 throttle. If I manually choke it by covering part of the intake, it will take the whole throttle, otherwise it sounds like it's starving for fuel.

I work on antique tractors for a living, so to me it sounds a plugged passage in the carb. But that little pump has me concerned that it may be the problem. Any thoughts?

jimd
04-15-2010, 08:56 PM
forgot to mention, air cleaner and fan shroud not currently installed, previous owner handed them to me when I purchased the buggy. Could they contribute to the problem?

KID4LIFE
04-15-2010, 08:56 PM
have you tried different jets in it yet? i agree, sounds like it's starving if you are choking off the air and it runs better.

jimd
04-15-2010, 09:00 PM
Haven't even pulled the carb for a good cleaning yet.
I bought the cart before I was really ready. I saw it locally for $400 and my boys agreed to work to pay for it. But I didn't want to miss it, so I payed and they will get to ride it when they earn the money. So I has made 4 laps around the yard, and parked in the barn.

Don't worry, they are at about $200 in 2 days, it won't take long.

jimd
04-15-2010, 09:01 PM
Supposedly, itran fine, and was parked for 2 years. I can't even be sure the prvous owner put fresh gas in it. It had 1/2 tank that smalle frsh, but I will dump it out and fill it up in the next couple of days.

olderthan
04-15-2010, 09:23 PM
i would start by pulling and cleaning the carb
welcome to the group
olderthan

BuggyMaster
04-15-2010, 09:44 PM
About 98% of the machines that sit will need the carb cleaned. Just the nature of the beast. Pretty easy job. Be sure that you do not try to clean that pilot jet with a drill bit or anything. Very small passage.

SYCARMS
04-15-2010, 11:59 PM