BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > 150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech

150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech GY6 and Smaller Technical Discussion Forum

Old 09-04-2012, 05:54 PM
Lite Contributor

Lightbulb advantages of performance clutch

Is there any advantage of running a performance clutch over a stock clutch on a basicly stock gy6 engine?
Old 09-04-2012, 09:49 PM
Lite Contributor

I'm a newbie to buggys so any and all info, personal preferences, and best brands are very appreciated.
Old 09-05-2012, 08:14 AM
Administrator

Depends what you are looking for. The CVT drive system on these has several components. I lot of guys will change out the variator weights as well as the clutch springs to achieve a different performance level. But...it's a game of get some give some. So if you modify to improve your bottom end for hill climbing or something, you are likely going to lose some of the top end and have less top speed. Is there a particular goal you are trying to accomplish?
Old 09-05-2012, 08:24 AM
Lite Contributor

I want the best all around performance. Before my clutch went out the bottom end seemed weak but top end was around 36 mph according to my garmin. I wouldn't mind losing a few mph for some decent low end gain. Also I got another question to add. I'm trying to run a cold air intake and I opened up my exhaust. I rejetted to a 125 main jet. But still when I give it throttle it bogs and dies. But idles great. But when I put my stock air box back on seems to do better. But I have to back the adjustment screw out around 4 turns.
Old 09-07-2012, 05:41 PM
Contributor