BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > 150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech

150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech GY6 and Smaller Technical Discussion Forum

Old 01-03-2017, 02:23 PM
Lurker

Default No fire without key being held in start position

Another Newbie here. I picked up an abandoned GK-150 with the GY6 motor for 100 bucks. After cleaning a birds nest from the open gas tank and an anthill from the intake I put a coil, cdi, and a battery in the kart. It will fire but only with the key in the start position. I can't imagine what thats doing to the starter so I quit and searched this forum. I hope I haven't missed a thread that addressed this already but if anyone has a suggestion please let me know! The former owner had it in pieces so I'm starting from scratch on this one...

Thanks
Old 01-03-2017, 04:14 PM
Heavy Contributor

Sounds like you may have the ignition switch wired wrong.
Old 01-03-2017, 06:25 PM
Heavy Contributor

Switch is probably bad in the run position. Replace it with a marine grade model.
Old 01-03-2017, 08:00 PM
Lurker

Thanks GX150 and liduno for getting back to me. I took the wires off the switch and jumped across them in different sequences to check what worked or didnt. I also rewired the switch based on the results from my ohm meter (terminal on switch to ground with key turned one "click" Im guessing would be the hot to the ignition system and the temporary, further position would be the start position to engage the starter). By jumping all wires together it would do the same thing as having the switch hardwired in the new sequence but it takes all three wires to engage the starter and make spark. Could i have the wires crossed at the starter relay or coil as different sources call them?

Thanks to all
Old 01-04-2017, 08:01 AM
Heavy Contributor