BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum

Go Back   BuggyMasters.Com - An On Line Mini Buggy Forum and Go Kart Forum > Technical Discussions > 150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech

150cc GY6 and Under Engine Tech GY6 and Smaller Technical Discussion Forum

Old 07-30-2012, 12:19 PM
Lurker

Default JEHC "Hammerhead" 150cc Slips at top speeds

I am completely new to the buggy world and just now familarizing myself with the CVT transmissions (pretty neat and simple). I bought a 2005 JEHM? Hammerhead 150cc blue(looks identical to the 2005 TJ Hammerhead Standard 150). It fires up and runs good but at about 20 mph the engine revs high and I lose power (almost as though I pushed in a clutch to a car). I assume it could be 1 of 3 things; the belt, the rollers, or the clutch assembly. The belt width measured to 19mm (20mm is new I believe) and looks good. It has the factory rollers. The clutch surfaces look good. It pulls great low to mid but once you reach that certain speed just revs freely and slips as if my belt was slipping as if the rollers were "flat." Any have any ideas? I am extremely mechanically inclined just new to these cvt buggies. PS Anyone know where I could find some parts to replace my exterior reverse gears? The shift fork broke and one of the plates that hold one of the planetary gears is moves.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by shiftrm131; 07-30-2012 at 09:38 PM.
Old 07-30-2012, 07:25 PM
Lurker

Update